top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLibby Paige

5 upcoming movies I can't wait to see


Photo via Creative Commons

After a relatively dry summer movie season, the fall and winter is shaping up to be a bit more exciting. Here are 5 movies I can’t wait to head to the theater to catch.


2018


1. Lizzie (Sep. 14)


Truth be told, I don’t know much about the true story of Lizzie Borden, but the trailer makes me want to put on my bifocals and dig deep into the historical tale of the infamous axe-murder suspect that provides fodder for the creepy nursery-rhyme song. Although it can be argued that the topic has been beat to death (poor choice of words, sorry) , I still can’t wait to see it and am hoping it plays in a theater near me, especially given that it features two American Horror Story alums (Chloe Sevigny and Denis O’Hare), which, if you know me, is appeal enough.


2. A Simple Favor (Sep. 14)


I’ve been pumped for this movie since the star-studded trailer popped onto my timeline a few weeks ago. I'm getting intrigue. I'm getting drama. I’m getting major Gone Girl vibes. The movie looks like a classic missing-person suburban thriller with a slightly upped glam factor, and I can’t wait to find out what secrets Blake Lively is hiding. I can’t picture her as anyone but Serena van der Woodsen, so in my mind this is basically Gossip Girl: Ten Years Later, but with more freaky secrets and mystery.


3. Assassination Nation (Sep. 21)


I hadn’t heard much about this movie until seeing an influx of Instagram ads about it, which I guess is a pretty effective form of advertising in 2018. The plot seems unclear to me, but I know it involves a data hack (no doubt a big plot point in a movie where social media seems to reign) and attractive teens fighting for their lives and maybe exacting some kind of adolescent revenge, lending it major Purge vibes, but also with hints of Mean Girls. (The ads tout it as The Purge mixed with Heathers, but given my hatred for '80s movies like Heathers that I’m sure I’ll extrapolate on in another blog post, I’d rather use another reference). Interestingly, women’s site Refinery29 is listed as a distributor of the film, and the trailer seems to promise some major female badassery. It remains to be seen if the movie will have actual feminist themes (albeit in an exaggerated way or expressed in a satirical fashion) or fall short in that department, hopefully not cringingly so.



4. Bohemian Rhapsody (Nov. 2)


In between the One Direction and Justin Bieber albums on my iPod lives a vast Queen discography. Even a contemporary pop junkie like me can recognize the brilliance and beauty of the iconic glam-rock band. I wouldn’t even mind if instead of the movie they just end up playing the trailer on repeat; the greatest-hits mash-up put together for the commercial is almost as iconic a jam as a full-length Queen song in and of itself. I can’t wait to see Rami Malek’s portrayal of Freddie Mercury.


2019


5. Glass (Jan. 18)


After being utterly ~shook~ by M. Night Shyamalan’s psychologically bending Split last year, I was ecstatic when I heard there was going to be a sequel (or even a third installment in a yet-undefined trilogy, if you’re familiar with Unbreakable, which I am not.) And Sarah Paulson is in the trailer? Umm, yes please! AHS fans are living.

That's all for now!

9 views0 comments
bottom of page