top of page
Search
  • Libby Allnatt

All I want for Christmas is brew: 2020 holiday drink guide

Is it just me or is holiday cheer more necessary than ever? I leaned in HARD to the fall vibes as soon as September kicked off, with pumpkin-flavored everything and an alarming amount of decorative gourds in my home. But with the winter holidays fast approaching, we're moving on to the signature flavors of a new season. Peppermint gets a lot of attention at this time of year, but there's actually a variety of flavors available to satisfy any cold-weather tastes. Here's a round-up of my personal favorite holiday drinks available for a limited time.



Dutch Bros


Dutch Bros is a pretty recent addition to my coffee shop rotation, with new locations sprouting up in northern Utah the past few months. Dutch currently has three featured drinks for the holiday season: Candy Cane Cold Brew, Snowberry Rebel, and Sugar Cookie Breve. The CCCB was calling my name, so I knew this is the one I wanted to try. It's a peppermint mocha cold brew with soft top (basically their version of cold foam), a drizzle of chocolate, and festive candy cane sprinkles. The drink is adorable and basically tastes like a peppermint shake.


It definitely packs more of a punch than you'd expect. I drank it down fast, assuming there wasn't too much actual coffee in it. Fast-forward to a few hours later and I'm bouncing around like a kid who pounded 10 Pixie Stix at a birthday party. I might order this again for a festive and sweet treat, but I would probably go for a small next time!





Starbucks


If you take anything away from this post, it has to be how special the Iced Chestnut Praline Latte from Starbucks is. Seriously folks, I got this drink two days in a row (and I'm sipping on it right now!) Get it with blonde espresso and almond milk to truly up the nuttiness and creaminess. (It also comes with whipped cream, which I usually skip, but that's an option!) Starbucks doesn't list the ICPL as one of the featured holiday drinks, so you might not see it on the menu. Just know that it's there, waiting for you.


The trifecta that Starbucks showcases as their featured holiday drinks includes the classic Peppermint Mocha, the Caramel Brulee Latte, and the Toasted White Chocolate Mocha (which, on the rare December day that I opt for a hot drink, is my personal favorite). You can also order an Eggnog Latte (and yes, the Pumpkin Cream Cold Brew is still on the menu!)


My sister (check out her cute blog here) loves the Caramel Brulee Latte. Here's what she had to say about it: "I love the sugary sweet creaminess. It's like a regular caramel latte with a deeper, richer flavor. Plus the caramel crunchies on top are delightful and Instagrammable!"


Starbucks also graced us with a new bakery item this year: the Cranberry Orange Scone. I love the fruity flavor of this treat and was delighted to see the drizzle of icing (rather than a too-thick layer, like some frosted scones can have). The thick cloud-like scone can be a little dry in the middle, but that only further incentivizes you to have a coffee with it. (Ooh, you can even dip the scone into the coffee! BRB, writing down this idea.)




Dunkin



Sadly, all the Dunkin locations in Utah are now CLOSED. I was devastated upon learning this news over the summer and to this day I still crave the iced butter pecan latte and an order of hashbrowns. I'm disappointed that I won't be able to try their holiday drinks this year, but if you're one of the lucky ducks with the famous donut hub still near you, this year's seasonal signature lattes include a Peppermint Mocha and a Gingerbread Latte. The holiday menu is a lot more streamlined this year, but with both a refreshing minty option and a cozy gingerbread one, there's still enough variety to satisfy any sweet tooth.



Badass Coffee



Badass Coffee has locations all around the country, and I highly recommend checking to see if there's one near you. The extensive latte menu (and their yummy signature coffee ice!) never disappoints. For a limited time, they have two festive lattes on the menu, and both are excellent options if you find yourself still hanging onto summer: the Peppermint Paradise Latte and the Hawaiian Frost Latte. The first option includes white chocolate and peppermint (obvi), while the latter is a tropical dream with coconut, macadamia nut and caramel. That's the one I opted for, and I already can't wait to get it again.


Thanks for reading! Stay tuned on my Instagram @UTCaffeineQueen to check out the seasonal finds that I get this month and next from my favorite local coffee shops!



bottom of page