top of page
Search
  • Libby Allnatt

Farewell to Hub City Coffee



A gem of an activity that I learned to truly appreciate this year was going for long drives. Thankfully, this affinity for mini road trips allowed me to expand my range and test out some coffee shops that I would otherwise consider too far. Finding an excuse to get out of the house and jam to some tunes, with the opportunity to get a fun treat waiting at your destination? The vibes are *chef's kiss*


One coffee shop that's been on my radar for awhile is Hub City Coffee in Ogden. I've been intrigued by the fun monthly specials, amazing customer service, and cute indoor space that I frequently see on Instagram (even though I would just be getting a drink to go). When I found out that they're closing for good this week, I knew it was officially my last chance to mask up and pop in.



I checked out the menu online before visiting and was excited to see that in addition to the usual suspects (classic coffee and tea) and unique monthly specials, there was a Specialty Latte section, which I always gravitate toward when checking out a coffee shop. To me, the unique flavor concoctions that make up specialty lattes are where coffee shops can really stand out.


The Almond Joy (chocolate, almond, coconut) instantly stood out to me, so naturally that's what I ordered when I visited, iced of course and with almond milk. My boyfriend opted for the iced Snickerlicious (chocolate, caramel, hazelnut). The size options for iced drinks are 16 and 24 ounces, while hot drinks can be 12, 16 or 20 ounces. (Drinks can be made blended as well if you're in the market for something frothy and refreshing.)



Other items on the Hub City Coffee menu that stand out and seem totally worth trying are the Pot of Gold (Irish cream, hazelnut, macadamia nut) and the Frozen Banana Macchiato.


My Hub City Coffee visit was on a late Sunday morning, and I definitely got the sense that it's a popular spot, with lots of people coming in to get drinks and treats. (There's a drive-thru as well, and an outdoor patio.) Their Instagram bio describes it as "Ogden's living room," and I could definitely see why it would be the perfect place to bring a book or laptop and camp out for a few hours, with a large seating area and a cozy fireplace. (We just got our drinks to go to be safe, but I sure am looking forward to having long coffee shop sessions again.)


The Almond Joy was sweet and nutty, but I definitely liked the Snickerlicious even more! It literally tasted like a cookie, which I attribute to the presence of the caramel, and I could not stop asking my very generous coffee partner for sips. You know when you're at a restaurant (remember those?) and you can't stop eyeing what the other person got? I'm not a regretful orderer (the Almond Joy was truly delicious), but I simply need to emphasize how amazing the Snickerlicious latte was.


I'm sad to see this fun spot close. Hub City Coffee closes on Dec. 31, 2020, so if there's still time, I highly recommend checking it out and trying one of their specialty lattes or December specials (like the Lava Cake Latte or Gingerbread Chai - yum!)



Address:

3525 Grant Ave.

Ogden, UT 84405


bottom of page