top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLibby Paige

"Youngblood" by 5SOS is my album of the summer


Photo via iTunes

Five Seconds of Summer is not the first boy band I’ve obsessed over and they will certainly not be the last. But their latest album, Youngblood, solidifies their status as something special and helps separate them from the four other cute crooners whose shadow they almost started off in.


The music of the Australian foursome doesn’t sound like One Direction’s at all, but their repeated presence as openers for 1D’s massive tours (not to mention) an involvement that goes much deeper, with 1D’s financial investment in 5SOS another stitch in their already tightly-woven relationship) has intertwined much of their fan base.


My ability to make my review of the new 5SOS album somehow about One Direction is representative of my ability of making everything in my daily life about One Direction, but this isn’t about One Direction. I really wanted to write about how obsessed I am with Youngblood and how I think it’s a perfect example of how a group can mature musically while still maintaining their tried-and-true sound.


Thematically, there’s nothing that groundbreaking here. Lost love, deep-rooted regret, yearning for someone who’s already found someone new. In fact, the admissions of bad-boy behavior and the reforming power of true love (“You’re the only one who could lock this wild heart up in chains” Luke Hemmings bellows on “Better Man”) and name-dropped references to drinking (a lyrical staple of young artists grown up) almost seem silly given the band members’ fairly squeaky-clean and unblemished reputation, like a kid who snuck out and is dismayed his parents aren’t more upset and practically wants to be grounded.


No, the album’s success comes from its sound, and its ability to keep it slick and undeniably poppy while keeping up the grunge that always gave 5SOS a little more street cred than a boy band like 1D. (Drinking game, Libby style: Take a shot of espresso every time I mention 1D in this post. You’ll be shaking like a chihuahua before you know it.)


The album’s first single, “Want You Back,” came out in February and let us know straight-up that 5SOS did not come to play.


But there are other standouts that make the album a true bop from start to finish. My favorite is by far “Monster Among Men” which I would venture to say is the most flawless 5SOS song to date (the alliteration of the title doesn’t hurt, making you want to belt out the catchy chorus). Michael Clifford (who usually doesn’t have as many solos as the more vocally prominent Luke) frolicks through the upbeat first verse before the happy beat cuts off for the self-reflective “I’m so bad for you” line.


The song also includes the ballsy move of making the chorus slower than the verses, a la One Direction’s “End of the Day” (take a shot!) or Lana Del Rey’s “West Coast.” The effect is a rocking anthem that will have you clapping, stomping and chanting along, but one that doesn’t lose its heart and authenticity in the process.


I’m so obsessed with “Monster Among Men” that it’s been hard for me to tear my auditory attention from it, but there are other songs that are worthy of heavy rotation.

“Ghost of You” is the most reminiscent of 5SOS’ older music, sung from the perspective of a forlorn and angsty ex-boyfriend who sings of the anguish brought on by the discovery of symbols of love lost, like a left-behind t-shirt or cup stained with lipstick.


The mild theatricality of “Babylon” and catchy chorus gives me major Panic! At The Disco vibes, and the hard-driving dance beat of “If Walls Could Talk” (a surprising but pleasant genre switch) totally makes me think of Neon Trees.


(It should be noted that “Monster Among Men” and “Babylon” are both from the deluxe version of the album, so I highly recommend streaming/purchasing this version. My own bias toward “Monster Among Men” aside, I still can’t figure out why a song that’s so quality-pop and quintessentially 5SOS would only be on the deluxe version, but I digress.)


I’ve been blasting the album in my ear buds (the in-ear kind, which I’ve always been against since they make me feel so blocked off from everything and like the music is pouring into my brain in a not-so-pleasant way) but the heavy guitars, bouncing beats, and catchy choruses, of Youngblood make me glad to be smothering my ear drums with it. If you like to flex your vocal chops (or lack thereof - no judgment) in the car or shower, this is the album for you.


I can say with confidence that this entire album will be in heavy rotation for me for awhile, and I can only hope that Five Seconds of Summer will continue to experiment and impress. With Youngblood, they’ve shown they can grow up with grace while still giving their fans what they give best: Catchy pop music with an edge.


Other reads on Youngblood:


Not a read, but this reaction video to the album had me cracking up. Shout-out to Dante D'Angelo for capturing the responses of a 5SOS fan perfectly.


15 views0 comments
bottom of page